The Erving Police Department is currently using the computerized MIRCS system. This system is part of the Massachusetts Department of Criminal Justice Information Services (DCJIS) and helps process pistol permits and FID cards faster and with more accuracy.
Permit application hours are during regular station hours: Monday - Thursday from 07:00 am to 4:00 pm and by appointment via firstname.lastname@example.org
The cost of an LTC or FID card is $100.00. If you are over 70 and renewing the fee is waived. If you are 15 to 18 years of age the FID fee is $25.00. Cash, check or money order only and must be paid at the time of application.
Please bring your old permit and driver's license with you when you apply. If you are a new applicant make sure to bring either your hunter education course certificate or your firearms safety course certificate as well.
If you are over 18 and you have a chemical propellant permit ONLY, you no longer need to renew this permit. In August 2014 the law was changed to allow residents of the Commonwealth to purchase and carry pepper spray without a permit, if they are over 18. If you are under the age of 18, you would still need to apply for the chemical propellant FID.
Please be aware that once your LTC/FID expires it is expired, there is no longer a grace period. If you renew your license prior to the expiration date, then the permit becomes indefinite until you receive your new permit.
If you have any questions regarding LTC or FID cards please call Chief Christopher Blair or Sgt. Robert Holst at 413-423-3310 during the above hours.
For more information on gun laws in Massachusetts, click here
Chief Christopher W. Blair